Driving while impaired or with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or higher is a serious crime in the state of Florida and it may result in a charge of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Aggravating factors such as age, property damage, past DUI history, and blood-alcohol level can add weight to the charges, resulting in more severe legal penalties.
Here are some of the most common categories of DUI charges and their associated penalties:
Penalties for a first offense include 12 months probation, a fine, DUI classes, community service hours, impounding your vehicle, and a license suspension. If convicted, you could expect to serve up to six months in jail.
If you receive a second charge of DUI within five years of your initial conviction, you will face similar, but harsher penalties as mentioned above, plus receive a minimum 10-day jail sentence. However, a judge may opt to substitute a stay in a residential rehab center for jail time.
If your DUI arrest happens within a ten-year window of your previous two offenses, you may have to serve a minimum of 30 days in jail, plus a harsher version of the terms for a first-time DUI.
In the case of a fourth DUI arrest, you may be charged with a felony.
In addition to the penalties listed above, an offender may face more serious penalties if a crash or injury is involved or if there were minor children in the car.
Florida DUI laws are strict. If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you need an experienced attorney to help you navigate the legal system. Call Shrader Law at 813-360-1529 today for a case review or to learn about legal strategies that may work best in your specific situation.
Posted in Criminal Defense
ADDRESS : 612 W Bay St, Tampa, FL 33606